How to ensure that ssh jump host users are not using previous password set to meet security compliances such as PCI DSS , SOX, HIPAA , NIST , MAS, SOC2, FFIEC, NERC CIP , ISO 27001

To meet various security compliance like PCI DSS 3.2, SOX , HIPPA , NIST , MAS , FFIEC , SOC2, NERC CIP, ISO 27001 users should not be allowed to set a password that has been previously used. To ensure that users are using a different password from the previous ones when they reset their password, set the variable Settings->General->Security->Password/ Security Code Retries, so that when a user changes his password, the ssh jump host does not allow the last n passwords, n = number of password retries in settings plus one.

So you may set the number of password retries in settings to 2 to disallow the usage of the last 3 passwords.

password-retry

0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
    Attached Files
    There are no attachments for this article.
    Related Articles RSS Feed
    Record ssh sessions
    Viewed 2527 times since Fri, May 4, 2018
    encryption type used for securing users ssh logs in ezeelogin
    Viewed 1322 times since Thu, Jun 15, 2017
    How to disable web terminal appllication in Cpanel ?
    Viewed 1552 times since Fri, Jun 29, 2018
    Set SSH User Expiry
    Viewed 959 times since Thu, Sep 20, 2018
    Can I use Google 2FA, Yubikey , DUO simultaneously?
    Viewed 2423 times since Thu, Dec 14, 2017
    Enable Google reCaptcha
    Viewed 337 times since Fri, Feb 1, 2019
    How to enforce 2 Factor Authentication on user login?
    Viewed 1030 times since Wed, Sep 19, 2018
    How to enable google 2FA (Two factor Authentication) in ezeelogin ?
    Viewed 2794 times since Mon, Oct 9, 2017
    Configure ssh timeout in ssh gateway
    Viewed 2149 times since Fri, Dec 1, 2017
    How to stream the ssh sessions in real time?
    Viewed 2981 times since Wed, Nov 22, 2017